Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Annual Georgia Student Philosophy Symposium - April 10, 2010

Keynote speaker: Professor David Schmidtz Department of Philosophy,
University of Arizona

Undergraduate and graduate students in all disciplines encouraged to
submit their work on any philosophical topic.

Scope: Original papers on any philosophical topic from graduate and
undergraduate students are welcome. The conference format will be
symposium-style: each session will include presentation/reading,
commentary, and brief Q&A/discussion period. Undergraduate and
authors will be selected for presentation. All accepted submissions
will available online in the Proceedings of the Georgia Student
Philosophy Symposium.

Prizes: One prize valued at $100 will be awarded to the most
outstanding paper by a graduate student. Another prize valued at $100
will be awarded to the most outstanding paper by an undergraduate
student. Prizes may take the form of books of the winner's choice.
Winners will be selected on the basis of philosophical content/
insight, clarity of written expression, and general appeal to a
student audience.

Submission Requirements: Papers must be prepared for blind review
(i.e., no author-identifying information or notes in the body of the
paper, only on the cover page). Reading length of paper should not
exceed twenty-five minutes (approx 3750 words). When submitting,
please include the following in the body of the email:

1. Author's name
2. Paper/presentation title
3. Brief abstract (~100 words describing topic discussed in paper)
4. Academic status (undergraduate/graduate), major, university
5. Regularly checked email address

Submissions that fail to include all of the above will not be
accepted. No more than one submission per author will be considered.
Authors should email their submission as a Word or PDF attachment to
Shane Callahan at scallahan2@student.gsu.edu

Deadline: Papers must be received no later than January 20, 2010.
Notification of acceptance will be emailed by February 21, 2010.

For any questions (including queries from students traveling from
outside the area who may need overnight accommodations) - contact
Shane Callahan at scallahan2@student.gsu.edu

Sponsored by the Zeta Chapter (Georgia) of Phi Sigma Tau, and the
Center for Ethics, Student Forum Georgia State University

Posted by Andrew I. Cohen, Department of Philosophy, Georgia State
University - aicohen@gsu.edu

Monday, December 7, 2009

Books for Philosophy of Religion, Spring 2010; links to used copies on Amazon.com:

1. A Thinker's Guide to the Philosophy of Religion (Paperback) by Allen Stairs and Christopher Bernard Longman; 1 edition (October 7, 2006); please find used if possible.

2. Why Lord? Suffering and Evil in Black Theology, by Anthony Pinn (Continuum, 1999).

3. A Rulebook for Arguments, by Anthony Weston, Hackett Publishing; any edition; please find used if possible)

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

The Third Annual Southeast Philosophy Congress invites submissions from undergraduate and graduate students in any area of philosophy. The Congress, hosted by Clayton State University in Morrow, Georgia, runs February 12-13, 2010, with keynote speaker George Rainbolt from Georgia State University. Presented papers will be published in online and print proceedings.

Talks run 20 minutes, followed by a 10 minute question/answer period. Please email papers, accompanied by a brief abstract, to Dr. Todd Janke: ToddJanke@Clayton.edu. Submission deadline is January 31, 2010. To allow time to plan travel, speakers will be notified immediately upon acceptance and selection will close when all slots are filled. The registration fee of $45.00 includes lunch both days and a print copy of the proceedings.

Final Examination Schedule
FALL 2009
Last Day of Classes: Wednesday, December 2, 2009
Reading Period: Thursday, Thursday, December 3rd and Friday, December 4th 2009
Final Examination Week: Monday, December 7th through Friday, December 11th
Classes That Meet Days Examination Date Examination Time

10:00 AM MWF Tuesday, December 8th 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM